The Beauty of Afternoon Tea

I love afternoon tea. In fact, I’d go as far as to say, I’m obsessed with afternoon tea. Not to be confused with high tea, afternoon tea is that snack that you have between lunch and dinner. It can be anything from peanut butter on toast to double baked cheesecake, it doesn’t matter what it is, as long as it’s exactly what I’m craving and I enjoy it immensely.

I earn my afternoon tea. I earn it at the gym, training for fun runs, rock climbing, whatever activity takes my fancy, I will take on in the name of afternoon tea. I don’t care what anyone says, I reward myself with food. If I’m going to go to the trouble of earning the calories, I’m sure as hell going to spend them.

Do I think about afternoon tea while I’m exercising? Of course I do. I think about what I’m going to have, where I’m going to get it, how I’m going to make it and/or where I’m going to have it. How else am I expected to get through a workout?

Lucky for me, I’m pretty good at baking. If I have a craving for something that doesn’t seem to be available in a bakery or cafe, I’m quite confident of my ability to hunt down a recipe for it and make it happen.

Take red velvet cake, for example. I discovered red velvet cake in New York in 2003. I had to ask the shop assistant what the bright red cake was. She told me it had a cocoa flavour and cream cheese icing with crushed walnuts on top. Sold!

The addiction was immediate, the move back to Australia, a major set back. No-one here had heard of red velvet cake and the idea of a bright red cake, quite frankly, put them off a bit. It was a few years later that it occurred to me to check the world wide web for recipes. Bingo!

I loved the sound of the icing on this one…

http://allrecipes.com.au/recipe/10766/iced-red-velvet-cake.aspx

But it looked like such a massive cake! I didn’t own 3x20cm round cake tins! So I tried a different approach and searched for cupcake recipes…

http://redvelvetcupcakes.com.au/

They were amazing, my very own little creation, red velvet cupcakes with white chocolate cream cheese icing. Obviously I introduced them to my family and friends and made the inevitable transition from crazy girl who talks about red cakes to baking genius.

Then came the day my googling truly paid off. The day that taste.com introduced me to red velvet whoopie pies. Oh sinful delight! The thought of my white chocolate icing sandwiched between two little pieces of red velvet cake had me heading straight out to stock up on red food colouring.

They didn’t disappoint, they turned out exactly as I’d imagined they would. I got a bit creative with the piping and was proud enough of my artwork to photograph it, bless my cotton socks. Shame it didn’t occur to me to photograph the finished product.

I'm no expert but at least they slightly resemble hearts.
I’m no expert but at least they slightly resemble hearts.
They looked even less like hearts after I'd baked them but who cares they were yum.
They looked even less like hearts after I’d baked them but who cares they were yum.
2 thoughts on “The Beauty of Afternoon Tea

    1. Thanks Irene, I just looked up rainbow cake. Wow that’s a lot of food colouring and cake tins. Looks like a project and a half, lol.

Leave a Reply

